A Beauty at the Highland Court: A Star-Crossed Lovers Highlander Romance (The Highland Ladies Book 8)

A Beauty at the Highland Court: A Star-Crossed Lovers Highlander Romance (The Highland Ladies Book 8)

When the perfect lady-in-waiting isn’t so perfect…

Arabella Johnstone has been held to an impossible standard her entire life. While her beauty surpasses any of the other ladies-in-waiting at King Robert the Bruce’s royal court, the pressure to always appear perfect is growing to be too much for Lady Arabella. Scrutinized for any flaw in appearance or behavior, Arabella struggles with the unattainable expectations placed upon her by her family and those at court. When she can no longer withstand strain, she turns to a reckless, self-destructive habit to cope. Can Lady Arabella accept help when it comes from a man she longs for but can’t accept?

When your sisters’ friend is all you want…

Lachlan Sutherland has admired Lady Arabella Johnstone for years, but she is his sisters’ friend. Every visit to Stirling Castle is sweet agony for Lachlan when he spends time with Arabella. Charmed by her saucy sense of humor, her kindhearted devotion to his sister Maude, and her mentoring of his sister Blair, Lachlan finds himself drawn to the engaging and intelligent young woman. But when he discovers Arabella’s secret, he’s certain he can no longer ignore his love for the beauty. Can Lachlan prove to Arabella in time that he loves her for more than her pretty face?

Lachlan and Arabella have denied their intensifying attraction for one another, both cautious of ruining Arabella’s friendships with Lachlan’s sisters. As their forbidden love grows with time, neither can imagine their life without the other, but Arabella’s father has set in motion plans that will keep them apart. With her life spiraling out of her control, Arabella finds solace in whisky. Lachlan is determined to prove to Arabella that her beauty is far from skin deep. Can these star-crossed lovers fight for a future together? Or will others’ expectations become an insurmountable barrier?

Order Now!
About the Book

If you love a sizzling HOT star-crossed lovers romance, then you’re sure to enjoy Celeste Barclay’s steamy Highlander romance, A Beauty at the Highland Court. Fans of Eliza Knight, Keira Montclair, and Emma Prince will love this newest addition to The Highland Ladies.

Welcome to Robert the Bruce’s Highland Court, where the ladies-in-waiting are a mixture of fire and ice. The Highland Ladies, the STEAMY spin off series from Celeste Barclay’s The Clan Sinclair series, returns to the Medieval royal court for love and intrigue.

Details
Author:
Genres: Highlander, Historical Romance, Medievals
ASIN: B08RSL584M
Order Now
Buy from Amazon Kindle
About the Author
Celeste Barclay

Celeste Barclay, a nom de plume, lives near the Southern California coast with her husband and sons. Growing up in the Midwest, Celeste enjoyed spending as much time in and on the water as she could. Now she lives near the beach. She's an avid swimmer, a hopeful future surfer, and a former rower. Before becoming a full-time author, Celeste was a Social Studies and English teacher. She holds degrees in International Affairs (BA), Secondary Social Science (MAT), and Political Management (MPS). She channels that knowledge into creating rich historical romances that bring the steam.

Preview
Disclosure of Material Connection: Some of the links in the page above are "affiliate links." This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, I will receive an affiliate commission. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."