An Enemy at the Highland Court: An Enemies to Lovers Highlander Romance (The Highland Ladies Book 6)

An Enemy at the Highland Court: An Enemies to Lovers Highlander Romance (The Highland Ladies Book 6)

Fans of Keira Monclair, Eliza Knight, and Emma Prince will fall in love with The Highland Ladies.

A lady-in-waiting struggling to fit in….

Even after three years at Robert the Bruce’s Highland court, Cairren Kennedy still feels like an outsider. Quiet and kindhearted, Cairren has fought to make a place for herself among the queen’s ladies-in-waiting when she doesn’t look like any of the other young women. A Lowlander with a French mother, her Mediterranean heritage sets her apart both by her features and her customs. When her father hints at an arranged marriage to a Highlander, Cairren fears she’ll face more discrimination when she’s forced to make her home among strangers. Can Cairren prove that she’s more than what people assume? Can she create a new life where she’s not welcome?

A second son with other plans…

Padraig Munro doesn’t need or want an arranged marriage because he already has the perfect woman in mind. When King Robert announces Padraig’s betrothal to the unsuitable Cairren Kennedy, Padraig refuses to open his heart to a woman who couldn’t be less of a Highland lass. Faced with a bride who can’t blend in and a family who refuses to accept Cairren, Padraig is caught between his duty to protect his gentle bride and his family’s expectations. Can Padraig balance the roll of husband and son when both sides couldn’t be further apart? Can Padraig put aside his preconceived notions to make his marriage work?

Pushed together by royal decree, Cairren and Padraig take an instant dislike to one another. 

Angry that he can’t marry the woman he’s certain he loves, Padraig leaves Cairren to navigate life in the Highlands until his clan’s resentment puts her life in danger. Cairren doesn’t trust the man she’s ordered to share a bed with, but when threats can’t be ignored, she must turn to the man she’d pledged her life to. Passion and desire spark between husband and wife, but outside the bedchamber, they can barely stand to look at one another. Can Padraig accept that Cairren isn’t to blame for his life’s unexpected path, and can Cairren stop seeing Padraig as the enemy before the real enemy destroys their chance to build a life together?

Order Now!
About the Book

If you love a steamy enemy-to-lovers romance, then you’re sure to enjoy Celeste Barclay’s sizzling new Highlander romance, An Enemy at the Highland Court.

Welcome to Robert the Bruce’s Highland Court, where the ladies in waiting are a mixture of fire and ice. The Highland Ladies, the STEAMY spin-off series from Celeste Barclay’s The Clan Sinclair series, returns to the Medieval royal court for love and intrigue.

Details
Author:
Genres: Highlander, Historical Romance
ASIN: B08RSK6NPL
Order Now
Buy from Amazon Kindle
About the Author
Celeste Barclay

Celeste Barclay, a nom de plume, lives near the Southern California coast with her husband and sons. Growing up in the Midwest, Celeste enjoyed spending as much time in and on the water as she could. Now she lives near the beach. She's an avid swimmer, a hopeful future surfer, and a former rower. Before becoming a full-time author, Celeste was a Social Studies and English teacher. She holds degrees in International Affairs (BA), Secondary Social Science (MAT), and Political Management (MPS). She channels that knowledge into creating rich historical romances that bring the steam.

Preview
Disclosure of Material Connection: Some of the links in the page above are "affiliate links." This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, I will receive an affiliate commission. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."